Home PageLocation and HoursContact UsCalendarE BooksCity of Belleville

facebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram

Reading Recommendations from "My Librarian"

A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler

Book title A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult, a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighbourhood - and the summer that changes their lives forever. In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighbourhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door - an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter. But with little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds.  whitehots.com

If you are looking for other similar titles in our library's collection, try these:

Book title  Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout Book title  Ask Again Yes by Mary Beth Keane Book title  Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng Book title Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson 

The Big Lie by James Grippando

Book title  The Big Lie by James Grippando

The country is reeling. For the sixth time in American history, the winner of the popular vote will not occupy the Oval Office. President Malcolm MacLeod was spared from impeachment only because his political foes were certain they would oust him at the ballot box. Now, he appears to have secured a second term, thanks to a narrow victory in the Electoral College. Gun lobbyist Charlotte Holmes is one of Florida's electors who is bound by law and by oath to cast her vote for MacLeod. When she announces that she intends to vote her conscience and throw the Electoral College to Stahl, the president hauls her into court on felony charges - which, for some, isn’t nearly punishment enough.  whitehots.com

If you are looking for a similar read, try these titles:

Book title  Here and Gone by Haylen Beck Book title Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford Book title  Shining City by Tom Rosenstiel Book title  The Camel Club by David Baldacci 

For more Recommended Reading click here!