Home PageLocation and HoursContact UsCalendarE BooksCity of Belleville

facebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram

Reading Recommendations from "My Librarian"

The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine

Book title The House between tides by Sarah Maine

Looking for an historic mystery that takes place in Scotland? Try The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine. As the last surviving relative of Theo Blake, Hetty has inherited the eccentric painter’s beloved summer home, located on an island in the Outer Hebrides. Hetty had thought that this manor home, now more than a century old, would be a great investment as a hotel and retreat. When she arrives for a better look, however, she finds that the building is near collapse, and the locals are less than enthusiastic about her proposition. Worse, James Cameron, the local man hired to assess the house, finds bones buried beneath the observatory, the remains of someone who died under suspicious circumstances. With James bending her ear one way, and her pushy London boyfriend the other, uncertain Hetty sets about solving the mystery of the skeleton, hoping that unraveling the story will help her decide what to do.

If you are looking for a similar read, try these titles:

Book title  The Lake House by Kate Morton Book title The physick book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe Book title The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley Book title Women of the Dunes by Sarah Maine Book title Secrets of Nanreath Hall by Alix Rickloff

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Book title The Tattooist of Auschwitz  A Novel by Heather Morris.

Author Heather Morris wrote this, her first novel, based on interviews she had in 2003 with Holocaust survivor Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov.  He was a Slovakian Jew whose job throughout his imprisonment in the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp was to tattoo identification numbers on inmates.  This job gave him certain privileges, which he used to help his fellow prisoners, including a woman named Gita Furman who he met and fell in love with.  Based on true events, this love story tells a tale of survival and endurance, and will be appreciated by fans of Historic Fiction.


If you are looking for other similar titles in our library’s collection, try these:

Book title  Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly Book title  Mischling by Affinity Konar Book title  The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah Book title The Trick by Emanuel Bergmann Book title  We Were the lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter.

The Wife Between us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Book title  The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen is a gripping thriller with film rights sold to the creators of The Girl On the Train. This book is about a jealous wife, obsessed with her replacement, and a younger women set to marry the man she loves. It will keep you guessing right to the end. 

'A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing.' - Anita Shreve, author of The Stars are Fire



For a similar read, try one of the following:

Book title  Behind Closed Doors B.A. Paris Book title  Cross Her Heart by Sarah Pinborough Book title  Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn Book title Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson Book title Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens

For more Recommended Reading click here!